Ballon d’Or 2020 officially canceled due to covid-19 pandemic

France Football is always holding the Ballon d’Or award every year for the first time since it rolled out in 1956 not to hold an award night this year.

This 2019/20 season is indeed a very different season, or rather odd for players of football and other sports. Pandemic Corona or Covid-19 which has been endemic since the end of last year has caused many soccer competitions to be delayed.

Ballon d’Or itself is an award for the best players in various categories, with the world’s best players as the main category. This award has been held by France Football since 1956.

But, given the current situation is different from previous years, France Football finally decided not to hold a Ballon d’Or. According to them, the Corona Virus pandemic made judgments about certain players unfair.

“For the first time since 1956, the Ballon d’Or award will not be held in 2020 due to lack of fair conditions,” the official statement of France Football said.

Indeed, as we said, almost all football competitions in Europe were disrupted by the Covid-19 pandemic. In fact, some of them have to stop in the middle of the road such as French Ligue 1, Dutch Eredivisie, Belgian Pro League and others.

While other competitions such as the Spanish La Liga, the English Premier League, Italian Serie A and the German Bundesliga will continue until the end.

With this fact, France Football feels it is unfair to compare the performance of players who play full season with players who have not yet completed the competition.

“Ballond d’Or 2020 edition will not be held. Why? Because this year cannot be compared to ordinary years. When you are in doubt, it’s better to abstain than to force. ” Said France Football.

For information, the Ballon d’Or award has been held by France Football since 1956. The last time this award was won by Barcelona mega star Lionel Messi was precisely in the 2019 edition yesterday.

The selection of Ballon d’Or winners themselves is based on voting conducted by Journalists, Coaches and Team captains from various countries.

Leave a Comment