Top 10 best players of the decade by IFFHS

The International Federation of Football for History and Statistics aka IFFHS recently released a list of 10 players considered to be the best players in the last decade, the period 2011-2020. Interestingly, Lionel Messi managed to surpass his eternal rival, Cristiano Ronaldo.

Previously, it should be noted that IFFHS itself is an institution that documents the history and statistics of football around the world and has been established since March 24, 1984.

Since then, IFFHS members from 150 countries around the world have participated in giving awards to the players and coaches they consider to be the best among others.

Meanwhile, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo themselves have been known to have rivalries since they surfaced. They seem to be competing with each other to become the world’s best players, where currently Lionel Messi is still ahead of Ronaldo if the benchmark is Ballon d’Or.

Yes, the Barcelona superstar won a total of 6 Ballon d’Or trophies throughout his career as a footballer so far, which is the highest number a player has ever achieved in the history of football.

Meanwhile, Cristiano Ronaldo trailed behind with a collection of 5 Ballon d’Or. But on the one hand, the former Manchester United star excels in winning trophies with three different clubs (MU, Real Madrid and Juventus). He also led Portugal to become champions at the Euro 2016 event.

Unfortunately, in the IFFHS ‘nomination for the best player of the last decade, Cristiano Ronaldo had to again acknowledge Lionel Messi’s superiority. In other words, the Argentine mega star was named the best player throughout the 2011 to 2020 period.

Cristiano Ronaldo was in 2nd place, which was then followed by several other players including Andres Iniesta, Neymar, Sergio Ramos and others.

For more details, here are the IFFHS versions of top 10 best players for the past decade.

1. Lionel Messi
2. Cristiano Ronaldo
3. Andres Iniesta
4. Neymar
5. Sergio Ramos
6. Manuel Neuer
7. Robert Lewandowski
8. Gianluigi Buffon
9. Zlatan Ibrahimovic
10. Luka Modric.

Leave a Comment